Central Government


Government Structure: Tanzania is a unitary presidential republic, which means that the President serves as both the head of state and the head of government. The government structure includes the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.

  1. Executive Branch:
    • The President is both the head of state and the head of government. The President is elected by popular vote and serves a five-year term.
    • The President appoints the Cabinet, which is responsible for advising the President on various matters and implementing government policies.
  2. Legislative Branch:
    • The Parliament of Tanzania is a unicameral legislature and is known as the Bunge. It consists of the National Assembly.
    • Members of the National Assembly are elected by the public for five-year terms. There are also seats reserved for women and special interest groups.
  3. Judicial Branch:
    • The judiciary in Tanzania is independent and is headed by the Chief Justice. The legal system is based on English common law.
    • The judiciary includes the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and various subordinate courts.

Political Landscape: Tanzania has a multi-party system, and the major political parties include the Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM), which has historically been the dominant party, and the opposition parties such as Chadema and ACT Wazalendo.

Local Government: Tanzania is divided into regions, districts, and wards. Local government authorities exist at the regional and district levels.

Elections: Elections are held regularly in Tanzania, with presidential and parliamentary elections occurring every five years. Local government elections are also held to elect leaders at the regional and district levels.

Please note that political situations can change, and there may have been developments or changes in Tanzania’s government structure since my last update. It’s advisable to check more recent sources for the latest information.